Halloween Horror Fest 2019 Review – Movie Park Germany

How We Rate and Review:

The four ratings exist of a Length Rating, which relates to the length of a maze, the longer the better. This doesn’t necessarily mean physical length of walking through the maze, but may also indicate there are plenty of different scenes and that the maze felt long. The Scare Rating is exactly what you think it is, how ‘scary’ does a maze get, how gruesome it is, if it creates a bunch of jump scares, etc. The Set Rating looks specifically at the job done regarding the theming of the maze, how immersive the sets are, how many different scenes guests encounter, etc. And then last, but definitely not least… the Experience Rating. Which is mainly based off of the overall feel of the maze, was it a extreme? Did it leave you breathless? etc. The overall experience, combined with the other three factors creates a FINAL SCORE for the maze. (Out of 10, 10 being: “absolutely unbelievably amazing”, 1 being: “Don’t even bother visiting”)


6) Circus of Freaks

Last spot goes to Circus of Freaks. Even though it has some nice moments and fun characters, it doesn’t look as professionally done as the other ones. You walk through a courtyard where they installed several tents and more. So yes, it’s an outdoor maze so it needs to be dark. Thus, the actors decide upon your experience for this one. Luckily, we got pretty good ones!

Length rating: 6.5/10

Scare rating: 6.5/10

Set rating: 6/10

Experience rating: 7/10

OVERALL rating: 6.5/10

5) Insidious 2

So I don’t watch a lot of horror movies and I haven’t seen any that inspired the mazes. So I never saw Insidious 2. Is it necessary to experience this maze? Maybe… I enjoyed some of the scares and the start where you need to walk through several doors. In the video shown before you enter, there seems so to be one very creepy scene in the movie with covered bodies sitting up straight. That got me pretty tense for when I would see the scene in the maze itself. However, it turned out pretty disappointing. The entire thing is built underneath the stuntshow seating area. They set up the maze in one long hallway because of that with each time the same turns. Another missed opportunity. The quality otherwise of the maze is pretty good so definitely worth a visit.

Source: Movie Park Germany

Length rating: 6/10

Scare rating: 6.5/10

Set rating: 6.5/10

Experience rating: 7/10

OVERALL rating: 6.5/10

4) Campout

For this maze, you walk through a forest pretty close to Bandit. So for this outdoor maze, you definitely need it to be dark. Once that’s the case, the atmosphere feels perfect for a maze. Once again, the detail level is pretty high for a free maze. A similar experience exists at Walibi Holland but I prefer this one as the setting is more modest. I also like the music choice, especially before you enter.

Source: Movie Park Germany

Length rating: 7/10

Scare rating: 6/10

Set rating: 8/10

Experience rating: 7.5/10

OVERALL rating: 7/10

3) Project Ningyo

The newest maze of Movie Park Germany! It replaces a hospital themed maze by a kind of beauty clinic. You enter what looks like a professional clinic and walk by someone who’s doing experiments. When you enter the dressing room, something happens and it’s time to run. Then you realize that it’s not really the clinic you want to get a face reconstruction. It definitely hold some wonderfully horrific scenes such as a section full of stacked cages where you need to walk through. Which ones hold actors though… I really liked it, but the best parts were at the beginning which I’d prefer to see the other way around. It could have done with some extra scares here and there too. Yet once again, for a free maze it has pretty high quality! Do note that you can pay for this maze to skip the queue. But honestly, I wouldn’t do it.

Length rating: 7/10

Scare rating: 6.5/10

Set rating: 8/10

Experience rating: 7/10

OVERALL rating: 7/10

2) Hostel

This house stands out because of the theme. Another movie I haven’t seen but those who have will really enjoy it as it tells the whole movie. You immediately get in the mood because of the old Dutch music playing at the entrance of the maze. As you watch the instruction video, the character at the hostel desk is using some drugs. Then you walk through a hooker district (but this time, there weren’t any behind the blurry screens). You soon start to realize that the atmosphere changes and turns more creepy. Some nice scares and halfway, it’s party time! It’s a nice breather in between the horror cause then it turns tense again. Especially the final part really creeped me out (which I won’t spoil). Too bad I didn’t see the movie, but even without it, you can really enjoy it.

Length rating: 7/10

Scare rating: 7/10

Set rating: 8.5/10

Experience rating: 8/10

OVERALL rating: 7.5/10

1) Slaughterhouse

Last but not least, my favorite (obviously)! It’s been in the park since 2015 yet I think people can still really enjoy it. It starts of pretty creepy already with the staff looking wonderfully overhappy to see you. The preshow sets the mood with the music and atmosphere. It’s the perfect mix between scary, horror and yet humor. You get a nice break in between by visiting the meatshop with a lovely counter lady once again. And then, it’s the mist scene… A wonderful effect and truly got me the creeps!

Length rating: 7.5/10

Scare rating: 8/10

Set rating: 8.5/10

Experience rating: 8/10

OVERALL rating: 8/10


That’s it for our Movie Park Germany Halloween Horror Fest review! I’m impressed how the park has pretty good mazes included in a regular entrance ticket price. And the first weekend of the Halloween events probably is the weekend that you want to go cause there others can be very busy. Also, no need to go early unless you really want to do some rides in the morning. After that, you’ll be stuck in the crowds until 4 pm when the first mazes start to open. Overall, if you’re a Halloween and theme park fan, it’s an event you have to do at some point!


Make sure to check out our other reports:

Halloween

Fright Fest 2019 – Six Flags Magic Mountain

Halloween Horror Nights – Universal Studios Hollywood

China

Shanghai Disneyland

Happy Valley Shanghai

Joyland

Wuxi Sunac Land

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.